Srila Prabhupada Uvaca 72 – Classical Indian Music; Most Beautiful Animal – March 25, 1973, Air India

Srila Prabhupada Uvaca by “pragosh” pragosh
Message
1.1 Srila Prabhupada Uvaca
Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:40 am (PST) . Posted by: “pragosh” pragosh
Srila Prabhupada Uvaca 72

Classical Indian Music; Most Beautiful Animal

March 25, 1973, Air India

Srila Prabhupada&# 39;s actions were ever-fresh. After eight months of being his personal servant, I thought I had a good understanding of how to act and what to say in response to his questions so as to not get me into trouble. I considered that our relationship was strictly spiritual master and servant. Over time, though, it became apparent that Srila Prabhupada wanted me to speak freely and honestly when he asked a question. He was very kind. I never felt he “put me on trial.”

One day as Srila Prabhupada and I entered an airplane on Air India, Indian classical music was being played over the intercom. We walked to our seats. As always, Srila Prabhupada took the seat by the window and I sat down beside him. The music continued.

“Do you like this music?” he asked smiling.

I stared at him with an empty glance thinking, “How can I tell him I like this music. Sure it sounds nice, but there is no chanting of the Lord’s names going on. It is only instruments playing. That can’t be Krsna Conscious.” Speculating fearfully, I missed my opportunity to be intimate with my loving spiritual master and said nothing.

“This music is very nice,” Srila Prabhupada mercifully said.

“Yes, Srila Prabhupada,” I answered with relief. “It is nice.”

I felt like a cheater unable to be honest. I was so concerned about the outcome of my answer, I forgot that Srila Prabhupada was a person with likes and dislikes. He heard the music and remembered Krsna. I heard the music and calculated it was maya and wondered how to answer in a Krsna conscious way.

April 1973, ISKCON Los Angeles

I made a few devotee friends while staying with Srila Prabhupada in New Dwarka. One morning I decided to go to mangala arotika to see them. While I was there Pradyumna came into the temple room and said, “Srila Prabhupada has been ringing his bell. He wants to see you now.”

I immediately left the temple room and raced into his room. I offered my obeisances and while lifting my head I said, “Did you want me, Srila Prabhupada?”

“You have no business going to mangala arotika,” he said in an angry mood. “Your service is to be with me 24 hours a day. If I need you, you should be available.”

I apologized and said I would never do it again.

Even before going to arotika I knew it wasn’t the right thing to do. I had been restless and thought that no one could fault me for attending mangala arotika. I figured that Srila Prabhupada usually didn’t call me so early in the morning. Of course, I should have remembered that he always knew what I was doing, so if I did go to arotika he would certainly call me. I was the only person in ISKCON who had a reason not to go to mangala arotika. For me, attending arotika was a sign I was in maya.

June 1973, ISKCON Bhaktivedanta Manor, England

It was a very beautiful afternoon. The sun was shining into Srila Prabhupada&# 39;s sitting room through the leaded glass windows. He was walking around the room chanting japa. He stopped in front of the windows and looked out into the garden.

“So, which is the most beautiful animal?” he asked me.

“A cow?!” I blurted out with little conviction in my voice.

“No,” he said quickly. “A horse. The horse has a very beautiful form. The muscle structure is very nice.”

Again, I messed up. I thought Krsna’s favorite animal was a cow. It had to have been a cow. As soon as Srila Prabhupada told me otherwise, though, it made perfect sense.

Srila Prabhupada, I beg you to tell me again that my only business is to be with you 24 hours a day.

>>> Ref. VedaBase => SPU 72: Classical Indian Music; Most Beautiful Animal

“The process is how to think of Krsna. Man-mana bhava mad-bhaktah. This is meditation. So this… By kirtana it becomes very easy. If you chant Hare Krsna maha-mantra twenty-four hours like Haridasa Thakura… That is not possible. So as much as possible… Tirtha-yasasa. Kirtana, this is also kirtana. We are talking about Krsna, reading about Krsna, reading Krsna’s instruction in the Bhagavad-gita or reading Krsna’s glories in the Srimad-Bhagavatam. They are all kirtana. It is not that simply when we sing with musical instruments, that is kirtana. No. Anything you talk about Krsna, that is kirtan.”
~ from Srila Prabhupada’s lecture on Srimad Bhagavatam 3.28.18 on October 27, 1975 in Nairobi

Srila Prabhupada ~ ” Simply our prayer should be, My dear Krishna, please remind me to always chant Your Holy Name, please do not put me into forgetfulness. You are sitting within me as Supersoul, so you can put me into forgetfulness or into remembering You. So please do not put me into forgetfulness. Please always remind me to chant, even You send me into the hell, it doesn’t matter, just so long as I can always chant Hare Krishna…”

Leave a comment